The Chinese Society of Occlusion was first established in 1989, with Professor Hui-yun Wang from the Fourth Military Medical University serving as its chairman.
Later, the Chinese Society of Temporomandibular Disorders was established in 1997, with Professor Xu-chen Ma from Peking University School of Stomatology as its chairman.
In 2002, the two societies were combined to form the Chinese Society of TMD and Occlusion, with Professor Xu-chen Ma serving as its president and Professor Zhen-kang Zhang from Peking University School of Stomatology as its honorary president.
The society's board members come from various specialties, including oral surgery, prosthetic dentistry, oral radiology, orthodontics, oral physiology, and others.
Since its establishment, the society has held seven national meetings for TMD and occlusion.

The Society for the Study of TMJ was founded in 1980 by Professor Toru Oka of Nagoya University, Professor Jun Takasu of Osaka Dental University, Professor Shojiro Takahashi of Tokyo Dental College, and Professor Takatoki Ono of Kyoto University.
The first academic meeting was held in Nagoya on June 14th, 1980, and eight academic meetings had been held yearly since the foundation. In 1988, the society developed into History of the Japanese Society for the Temporomandibular Joint (JSTMJ).
JSTMJ holds an annual scientific meeting every year since 1980. Now in addition to the annual scientific meeting a one-day lecture is held twice a year to improve academic levels of the members. The society also publishes four issues of the Journal of the Japanese Society for the Temporomandibular Joint each year. JSTMJ has a TMJ specialist system and has registered 278 senior specialists and 434 specialists who passed the examinations.
In 2003, JSTMJ published a technical book named 'Temporomandibular Joint Disorder' for its members and general dentists. A free lecture for public education is also held yearly.
In terms of international exchange, JSTMJ concluded agreements for academic exchanges with the Korean Association for TMJ Corporation and Chinese Society of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion on July 26, 2008.

The Korean Association for Temporomandibular Joint was founded on April 15th, 1995, at Inchon Memorial Hall of Korea University. The steering committee at the foundation consisted of Prof. Kwon Jong-Jin from Korea University, Prof. Chung Hoon from the Korean Temporomandibular Research Institute, and Prof. Han Jung-Suk from Ewha Women's University.
The association was accredited as an incorporate foundation by the Ministry of Health and Welfare on December 26th, 2000, becoming the first organization officially recognized as an academic foundation dedicated to the research and education of temporomandibular joints. In 2001, the association began educating dentists on temporomandibular joints under a curriculum officially recognized by the Korean Dental Association. In March 2005, the association published the professional book "Systemic Treatment for Temporomandibular Joint." In February 2006, the incorporated association 'Korean Society for Temporomandibular Joint Research' was promoted to 'Korean Society for Temporomandibular Joint Association' approved by the Ministry of Health and Welfare.
The Society holds continuing education workshops for dental professionals twice a year and an annual association meeting. In addition, the official journal is published twice per year. On September 19th, 2009, the first Asia Symposium for Temporomandibular Joint was held in Seoul. The first President of the association was Professor Kwon Jong-Jin from Korea University, followed by Professor Chung Hoon from the Korean Temporomandibular Joint Research Institute.

Several research studies and clinical experiences have identified the temporomandibular joint (TMJ) as the source of various chronic dentofacial pains that affect many Filipinos. As the number of patients increased, the TMJ disorder became a public health concern.
In response to this, a group of dentists founded the Philippine Association of Functional Jaw Orthopedics-Temporomandibular Joint, Incorporated (PAFJO-TMJ, Inc.) on December 15, 1998, at the Club Filipino in Greenhills, San Juan, with Dr. Jesus C. Tumaneng, the then PDA President, as the Guest of Honor. PAFJO-TMJ, Inc. acquired legal personality on October 14, 1999, by virtue of SEC Registration No. A199915939. PAFJO-TMJ, Inc.'s common goal is to disseminate the idea that TMJ disorder is mainly preventable and manageable in a typical dental office setup.
With the support of the Board of Directors, PAFJO-TMJ, Inc. was successfully launched as the 22nd Affiliate of the Philippine Dental Association on May 3, 2001, after a successful defense led by the founding president, Dr. Rene U. Lasquite, with the approval of the PDA House of Delegates (HOD).
Quarterly regular meetings and mid-year seminars are held to keep members up to date on the most recent research developments in the industry. The training and seminars also integrate medical disciplines in pain control and management, surgery, and alternative practices.
PAFJO TMJ, Inc. signed an "Agreement of Academic Exchanges¡± between Philippine Association of Functional Jaw Orthopedics (PAFJO TMJ Inc.)- TMJ Inc. and Korean Incorporated Association for Temporomandibular Joint at Hyatt Hotel, Seoul, Korea, during its 10th Anniversary in 2011. PAFJO TMJ, Inc. was also recognized as the fourth member country of the Asian Academy for Temporomandibular Joint (AATMJ) with China, Korea, and Japan. The Memorandum of Agreement was signed on November 18, 2015, at the culmination of the 4th Asian Academic Congress for TMJ, held in Solaire Hotel and Resorts, Philippines, in November 16-18, 2015.

Copyright Asian Academy for Temporomandibular Joint. All Rights Reserved.